Upcoming Concerts

Concert Series #1 – Sankofa

  • Hanna Benn – Sankofa (2017)                                                                      
  • Julian Garvue – Concertino for Piano and Orchestra (World Premiere)                                          
  • Dimitri Shostakovich – Symphony No. 9, op. 70 in Eb major (1945)          
  • Makenna Carrico – Chocolate (World Premiere)

Interesting facts about this concert:

Sankofa is an African word from the Akan tribe in Ghana.  The literal translation of the word and the symbol is “it is not taboo to fetch what is at risk of being left behind. The word is derived from the words:

SAN  (return),

KO  (go),

FA (look, seek and take).

The sankofa symbolizes the Akan people’s quest for knowledge among the Akan with the implication that the quest is based on critical examination, and intelligent and patient investigation.

Concertino for Piano and Orchestra was written for the 100th year birthday anniversary of Thelonius Monk.